My goals for 2012

9 Mar

I’m definitely a goal oriented person. When I set a goal, I have a definite thing I want to achieve, and I can create a plan to accomplish whatever goal I set out to do. I have goals in all the different aspects of my life, but surprisingly, my running goals are a lot less structured than any other goals I set for myself. I used to follow training plans when I was tackling a new distance for the first time, but now that I have so many races on my schedule, I’ve thrown training plans out the window and simply do what my body tells me it wants to do. I’m definitely a fan of listening to your body and not pushing yourself too hard if your body is telling you it needs a break. Sometimes though, you have to get uncomfortable to become better at something. With all that being said, here are my goals for 2012, and my plans to tackle these goals.

  • I will run 12 1/2 marathons in 2012.

I set this goal for myself right after the new year after realizing I was already registered to run 8 1/2 marathons in 2012.  I now have my 12 1/2’s plan laid out, but more are on the horizon. (Check out my upcoming races tab to see what races I am running this year!)

 

1/2 marathons #1,2 & 3 for 2012

  • I will run 25 1/2’s before my 25th birthday next April.

This isn’t a goal just for this year, but a big chunk of these races have to be run in 2012 if I’m going to make it. I just finished number 10 last week, and number 11 is next weekend. I run number 12 right after my birthday this year, so I’ll have to run 13 races in a year to meet this goal.

My 2:10 PR race from 2011

  • Run a 2:05 1/2 marathon.

I’m usually a runner that doesn’t care about speed, I focus more of getting in the miles. That being said, I just love to run a good PR. I feel like I’m on cloud 9 for days after the race, so it would be amazing to knock some time off my 1/2 PR. Last year I managed to knock 10 minutes off my 2010 PR. This year I’m going a little more conservative because I know it’ll take a lot of work to run a sub 2 hour 1/2. My current 1/2 PR is 2:10, so I feel comfortable trying for a 2:05. That’s about 20 seconds faster per mile than my current best time. I think I can do it, but I just have to figure out when. I haven’t trained for speed lately, so I don’t think DC will be a good race to do it at next weekend. During the spring/ early summer I have 7 races with no more than one weekend break between each one, so those races seem unlikely. My next option would be to try at the KC 1/2 marathon in October. Although the race is hilly, I would have plenty of time to train while increasing my speed before October. This goal is still a work in progress while I figure out a definite race aim for my PR.

There you have it, my new 2012 goals. I’m excited to have something to work towards, and goals to keep my motivated this year!

 

Leave a Reply

