Kansas City Marathon

16 Oct

I did it! Marathon #2 is in the books, and I finally feel like I ran a marathon instead of simply completing one! After hitting the wall early in my last marathon I was glad to follow a pace group that was a little slower this time, and it helped me finish strong.

I’m a bit peeved at my computer right now because it decided to close the internet after I’d finished most of a mile by mile recap of the race. Since I don’t feel like going back through and typing it all up again, I’ll do the cliff notes version.

  • The weather was cool and generally gorgeous the day of the race. I started out with arm warmers on, and had a heat blanket at the start to keep me warm, but once I started running I didn’t need anything to really keep me warm.
  • The bands along the course were great. There were noticeably more along the parts we ran with the 1/2 marathoners. I think there was maybe one during the 13 miles that we ran without the 1/2 marathoners.

  • I’ve learned at bigger races, that there always has to be someone wearing a crazy costume. This was true again during this race. We got passed by a couple bananas and a gorilla before mile 1.

  • Hallmark did a great job getting me excited for the aid stations. They must have donated a bunch of party cups to the race because most of the aid stations passed out gatorade and water in cute party cups. I got excited for the aid stations to see what kind of cups there would be.

  • KC may not attract the elitist of elite runners to its race, but it still attracts some fast runners. We saw these two when they were almost to mile 20. We hadn’t quite made it to mile 9 yet…

  • Running with a pace team is so helpful! I started with the 5:15 pacers, and they didn’t let me quit when I started to get tired near the end. They were so supportive and encouraged me every step of the way. Even when I was too tired to really talk near the end, they didn’t stop telling me how great I was doing, and were great at letting me know about what the course was like ahead. I felt like I was being coached through the birth of a child when they would warn me about a hill coming up, and then tell me that as soon as I got to the top there would be a downhill to relax on. I can’t say enough good things about the pacers and the group I ran with, they were sensational!

  • I ran smart and never hit the wall during this race. I credit that to the group I ran with, the weather, and keeping a nice steady pace throughout the race. I even ran some sort of negative splits. My 5K pace was 12:30, and all my splits after that were in the 11:50’s pace wise. I was exhausted at the end, but I was able to pass a lot of people the last few miles while I was still running and they were forced to walk.

  • Finally, this is what I ran an extra 13.1 miles for. A nicer finisher medal, and long sleeve tech finisher shirt!

  • Final Results:

I’m half way to Marathon Maniacs. If I finish RNR St. Louis next week I qualify. Hopefully my sore legs start feeling better in the next couple days!

5 Responses to “Kansas City Marathon”

  1. Sarah October 16, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    Congrats! I don’t think I could have done a mile-by-mile recap of my marathon (in short: Miles 1-20=steady does it, Miles 20-26.2=so over it can I be done already?), so I’m sorry the Intertubes ate yours. Nice medal and shirt!

    • runningechols October 19, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

      Thanks! I took pictures of all the mile markers, so it was easier to remember what went on in between. By the end of the race all I had pictures of were the mile markers. I really liked the medal and shirt too. It’s my first official finisher shirt that I’ve received at the end of a race for just finishing. All the other races I’ve ever run just do participant shirts.

  2. Mags October 17, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    I love reading your posts. As a new runner, I just wanted to say “thank you” for being such an inspiration. I don’t know if I’ll ever do a marathon, but I sure do find it motivating to read how you do it. Thanks so much!

    • runningechols October 19, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

      Aww, thanks so much for the sweet comment. I’m glad I can be an inspiration to others. I was a couch potato before I started running last spring, so I’m still kind of in shock at how much I’ve been able to accomplish in a year and a half. The medal hanger I bought once I started getting several medals says ‘Never limit your challenges, challenge your limits.’ I totally believe that statement, and have been living it the past year getting ready for Goofy in January.

  3. Kelsey October 28, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    I love reading your recaps and that you’re a local KC runner too! There needs to be more of a running KC blogger community 🙂 I hope STL went well for you, I’m looking forward to hearing about it!

Leave a Reply

