It’s all in the way you feel…

10 Aug

2 posts in 2 days? I think this may be some kind of record.

This morning I did something uncharacteristically strange. I stepped on my bathroom scale. I’ve had the same pink princess bathroom scale for ages, the fact that it is (or mainly was) a pink princess scale should say something about how old it is. Usually it sits in the bathroom and collects dust, but this morning I was feeling really good about myself and thought I’d see what the number said. MISTAKE! I won’t say what the number was, but I will say it was disappointing to see. I was kind of bummed all morning and afternoon about it, and even changed what I packed for lunch and snacks today because of it. This evening when I was complaining to the hubby about gaining weight he politely reminded me that we just got back from vacation where we ate a lot… Like $5 ice cream cones every night even though we weren’t really hungry a lot.

I guess I’ll just use it as a wake up call to the fact that I’m running a marathon in 2 1/2 weeks and need to make sure I’m fueling my body right before the big day. After all, I feel great, isn’t that really all that should matter?

Today was a cross training day, so I did 30 minutes of yoga. I was going to do 30 minutes of elliptical as well, but it’s ridiculously nice outside today. Usually the upper 80’s isn’t considered nice, but when the normal temperature the last couple weeks has been 100+, the 80’s feel like fall. Since I did a hard run yesterday I decided to take it really easy on my run. I didn’t turn the GPS app on on my phone, and I didn’t even wear a watch. I just listened to my body and let it tell me how hard to run. It was nice not worrying about my pace or how far I had run. I think I’m going to start leaving the GPS off and my watch at home on easy runs more often.

Speaking of yesterday’s run, I ran a 5k in 26:05! I know that’s not super fast for most people, but that’s the fastest I’ve ever run a 5k, so it was super speedy for me. I’m kind of tempted to throw a fall 5k into my schedule of longer races just to see if I could set a new PR now…

I’ll leave you with a beautiful picture from my run tonight.

I think some rain clouds are starting to roll in. It’s supposed to rain all day tomorrow, but the high is only going to be in the upper 70’s!

Leave a Reply

