Marathon doubts and outfit possibilities

9 Aug

As marathon day gets closer my confidence that I’ll be able to finish keeps getting lower and lower. It doesn’t help when I have a mediocre or crummy shorter run. If I can’t run 4-5 miles without getting too tired,  how will I run 26.2?

There are so many race day factors that I can’t control that make me even more nervous. It’s been miserably hot here, like it has been around most of the country. If I’m going to finish around noon, the temperature could be dipping into the 100’s if the heat stays around. 100 degrees after being outside for 4-5 hours running just isn’t healthy for anyone, trained or not.

With school starting this week I’m going to be exposed to more germs than normal again, which means my chance of getting sick is going to greatly increase. I can’t imagine running a marathon with a cold and the heat. The thought terrifies me!

I keep trying to remind myself of the good runs I’ve had in training. I ran 3 half marathons during training, and finished a 20 miler after wiping out twice. Running is a mental sport and I’m going to have to get all the self doubting out of my head before race day.

One thing I do know about marathon day is that I will be rocking a cute outfit, even if I perform less than stellarly! I’ve been thinking about my marathon outfit since I signed up and have it narrowed down to 3 options.

The first outfit includes a new under armor top I recently picked up and one of my favorite skirts and pairs of swift socks. I love purple!

This is the back of the shirt. I thought it was a little bit more stylish than most running tanks…

My next option is one of my newer skirts with a shirt I won from One More Mile for winning a facebook contest! I love the witty sayings on their shirts, and the new fuchsia color they are selling now!

I thought the saying would be perfect for an August marathon which is why I chose it…

My last outfit isn’t the brightest or cutest, but the tank is super cool and was the one I wore on my 20 miler. I also like that I could mix and match swift socks with the black skirt.

I’m glad I have 2 1/2 weeks to decide on an outfit. I’m seriously torn between all 3! I also ordered some new Bondibands for the occasion because I know I’ll be sweating enough to soak through at least a couple of them.  I’m usually super plain with my bondibands so I decided to order some fun colors and designs this time, so hopefully those don’t add to the outfit indecision I’m suffering from right now.

6 Responses to “Marathon doubts and outfit possibilities”

  1. Kayla August 9, 2011 at 3:19 am #

    Hey Heather! I had no idea that you had a blog!! All of your recaps are awesome! You are going to rock that Full Marathon! I wish I had the drive to do one. I am just not wanting to run a full at this time! Maybe in a few years. haha Out of the three outfits I like the black with the pink top and any of the swift sox. I wish I had as many cute skirts as you do!

    • Amy (from DisBoard) August 9, 2011 at 11:29 am #

      You can do it, Heather! I have to laugh – only a woman would say, “I don’t know if I can do this, but I’m going to plan my outfit…” 🙂 Don’t let a crappy run fool you – you have trained and can get it done!

      • runningechols August 9, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

        haha, I never thought about how silly that could sound. I was actually reading an article in runners world last night about self doubt and how to get over a large amount of running fears. It said that being nervous just means you are excited. Let’s hope that’s true!

    • runningechols August 9, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

      Thanks Kayla. I’ve had one for awhile but literally just figured out how to use it and comment on other blogs this week…
      I blame Disney for making me want to run a marathon. I was going to run the Disney marathon as my first, but then I decided to do Goofy and wanted to run a couple marathons before that. You should run Disney in a couple years, although the time of year isn’t super convenient for teachers since it’s usually right after school starts for the spring semester.

  2. Julie August 9, 2011 at 10:14 pm #

    Heather – you are going to do great AND look fab at whatever you wear. And I do think if you think you look good, you will do fine…. at least that was my princess experience. I have been gripped by fear this past weekend and you know when I ran the princess the weeks leading up with my injury had me a basket case at times. I love reading your updates, you are so insightful and inspiring! And you are right about this heat…..there was a hint of fall in the air this morning…I can’t wait for cooler temps!

    • runningechols August 9, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

      I think I’m less fearful of the marathon than I was of my first half. I wouldn’t tell anyone I was running a half marathon before I ran it. I was so scared of not finishing because of injury. I’m trying to be thankful that I’ve trained injury free and be prepared for whatever race day conditions there are. I’m super excited to run this weekend because it’s supposed to be in the 60’s in the morning. Yay fall!!

Leave a Reply

